Federico Colli makes debut with the Philharmonia Orchestra

26 September 2016

Federico Colli will make his debut with the Philharmonia Orchestra under Alpesh Chauhan on Friday 30 September 2016 performing Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2. The concert is part of the Windsor Festival and it will be Federico’s much anticipated first public performance of this piece.

More information about Friday’s concert can be found here.

On Thursday 20 October 2016 Federico Colli will return to the prestigious Southbank Centre’s International Piano Series (held at St John’s Smith Square this season) where he will present a programme of Mozart, Beethoven and Schumann, as well as Mussorgsky’s ‘Pictures at an Exhibition’. Full details of the recital can be found here, we hope to see you there.

Colli made his London recital debut at the International Piano Series in 2014 for which he received five-star reviews in both The Independent and The Guardian. Critics described him as “extraordinary” (Michael Church, The Independent) and “a star” (Tim Ashley, The Guardian):

“Whenever Italy throws up a brilliant young pianist, hopeful comparisons are made. The new Michelangeli! the new Maurizio Pollini! [...] although his artistry is completely different from that of either of his great predecessors, the comparison is appropriate because he really is extraordinary [...] Colli’s greatest gift: absolute clarity of intention.”
Michael Church, The Independent*****

“Schumann’s big, rarely played sonata [No 1 in F sharp minor] suited the mixture of flamboyance and lyricism that characterises his playing [...] tangible glee [...] wonderful subtlety [...] moody, rapt and gloriously poetic. Colli’s Mozart [Sonata No 5 in G major, K283] is very direct and admirably free from frills and preciosity; the finale was tremendous in its elan and wit. The Appassionata [Beethoven], meanwhile, was a thing of self-conscious extremes that blended extraordinary stillness – the central andante was breathtaking – with ferocious turbulence.”
Tim Ashley, The Guardian*****

Please watch Federico Colli’s 2014 debut at the International Piano Series here:

Mozart Sonata no. 5 in G major KV 283
Beethoven Sonata no. 23 in F minor Op. 57 “Appassionata”
Schumann Sonata no. 1 in F sharp minor Op. 11


View All