Marcus Barcham-Stevens joins the Fitzwilliam String Quartet

27 March 2013

The Fitzwilliam String Quartet is delighted to announce the appointment of Marcus Barcham-Stevens as their new Second Violinist.

Marcus Barcham-Stevens has broadcast as a soloist on BBC Radio 3, played with the Nash Ensemble at the Wigmore Hall, and performed chamber music with Freddy Kempf, Peter Donohoe, Paul Lewis, Alina Ibragimova, Leon McCawley, Paul Watkins, and with Thomas Adès as pianist in music by Adès with the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group at Carnegie Hall, New York.

He has guest-led the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra (with whom he also held the position of Principal First Violin), the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Ensemble Modern (Frankfurt), Musikfabrik (Köln) and the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group. Furthermore, Marcus played with Sir John Eliot Gardiner’s orchestras Orchèstre Révolutionnaire et Romantique and English Baroque Soloists, with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment and Jonathan Cohen’s superb ensemble Arcangelo.

Marcus Barcham-Stevens is also a member of the mixed chamber group Chroma, and is a composer – his piece Dhyana for soprano and ensemble was described by The Guardian as “hugely impressive” (George Hall, 2011) – and he was a finalist in 2012 in the New Music for St. Paul’s Cathedral competition. Marcus was Collard Fellow from the Worshipful Company of Musicians and is now a Freeman of the Company. He was recently appointed co-leader of the Britten Sinfonia.

For more information, please visit the Fitzwilliam Quartet’s website

Group 9 Created with Sketch. View All

Next Article

Shape Created with Sketch.