Two world premieres by Michael Berkeley in October

30 September 2021

This weekend, two new pieces by composer Michael Berkeley, entitled 'Out of the Depths' and 'Two As One', will receive their world premieres in performances in London and Tetbury.

On the 1st October, 'Out of the Depths' will be performed by Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra principal trombonist Jörgen van Rijen and the Royal Academy of Music's Academy Symphonic Brass. The piece is a special commission by the Royal Academy of Music as part of their '200 Pieces' project, which celebrates the Academy's bicentenary in 2022. More information about the concert can be found here. The concert will be livestreamed and is free to watch on Youtube here.

The following day, 'Two As One' is performed at the Tetbury Festival with Carolyn Sampson and Tim Mead, and players of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment directed by Jonathan Cohen. The new work is written as a companion piece to 'Touch Light', also commissioned by the Tetbury Festival in 2005, which Berkeley describes as a homage to the masters of early opera: Monteverdi, Handel, and Purcell. More information about the concert can be found here.

Group 9 Created with Sketch. View All

Next Article

Shape Created with Sketch.